Power-to-X

The conversion of renewable electricity into hydrogen via electrolysis and the subsequent synthesis of different hydrocarbons (e.g. methane, synthetic fuels and other chemical carriers) is the core element of sustainable sector coupling. Methanation plants convert hydrogen and CO2 into synthetic methane and thus enable unrestricted feed-in into the natural gas grid. In addition, certain applications, such as in mobility, require liquid energy carriers with high energy densities, such as methanol or other synthetic fuels, which are provided from hydrogen by methanol syntheis and the Fischer-Tropsch process.

We are happy to support you with techno-economic, environmental and strategic analyses in respect to feasibility, selection and implementation of Power-to-Gas and Power-to-Liquids projects. When necessary we can use two established tools: PtX database (global overview over planned and realised PtX projects) and E3database (software tool and data base for life cycle analyses).

 

Contact person

Patrick Schmidt

Patrick Schmidt

  • Senior Consultant

Selected references

pinwheel-4550711_1920

December 2019

ElementEins feasibility study

In 2019, Ludwig-Bölkow-Systemtechnik carried out a comprehensive feasibility study for the large 100 MW power-to-gas project ElementEins. It provided information on the choice of location, approval requirements, components, the system concept, and the potential mode of operation.

Amprion_OGE-Study

February 2018

Intelligent sector coupling

Amprion and OGE have jointly commissioned LBST to analyze the economic and climate-relevant effects of a broad introduction of Power-to-Gas (PtG) compared to an “all-electric” world for Germany up to 2050 in sector-specific detail. The electricity sector with its inherent flexibility options was completely modeled, except for the electricity distribution network.

Bild1_zugeschnitten_Vol-6

March 2022

Power-to-Liquids for Aviation 2.0

The energy, mobility and sustainability expert consultants of Ludwig-Bölkow-Systemtechnik GmbH (LBST) and aviation technology experts of Bauhaus Luftfahrt e.V. (BHL) have again teamed up to update their groundbreaking publication on power-to-liquids (PtL) for aviation commissioned by the German Federal Environmental Agency (UBA).

Power-to-X

Die Umwandlung von erneuerbarem Strom in Wasserstoff mittels Elektrolyse sowie die anschließende Synthese zu unterschiedlichsten Kohlenwasserstoffen (z. B. Methan, flüssige Kraftstoffprodukte oder Methanol und Basischemie) sind Kernelemente einer nachhaltigen Sektorenkopplung. Methansierungsanlagen wandeln Wasserstoff und CO2 in synthetisches Methan um und ermöglichen damit die uneingeschränkte Einspeisung ins Erdgasnetz. Daneben erfordern bestimmte Anwendungen – etwa hohen Anforderungen im Transportsektor –Energieträger mit hohen Energiedichten wie Methanol oder andere synthetische Kraftstoffe, die beispielsweise durch die Methanolsynthese oder via Fischer-Tropsch-Route aus Wasserstoff bereitgestellt werden können.

Wir unterstützen mit techno-ökonomischen, umweltbezogenen und strategischen Analysen hinsichtlich Machbarkeit, Vorauswahl und Begleitung von Power-to-Gas und Power-to-Liquid Vorhaben. Auf zwei bei der LBST etablierte Handwerkszeuge können wir hierfür bei Bedarf zurückgreifen, die PtX-Datenbank (globale Übersicht über geplante und realisierte PtX-Projekte weltweit) sowie die E3database (Softwaretool und Datenbank für Lebenszyklusbilanzierungen).

 

Ansprechpartner

LBST_profiles - Schmidt-min

Patrick Schmidt

  • Senior Consultant

Ausgewählte Referenzen zu diesem Thema:

pinwheel-4550711_1920

Dezember 2019

Machbarkeitsstudie ElementEins

Die Ludwig-Bölkow-Systemtechnik führte 2019 einer umfassenden Machbarkeitsstudie für das große 100 MW Power-to-Gas Vorhaben ElementEins durch. Sie lieferte Erkenntnisse zur Standortauswahl, Genehmigungserfordernissen, Bauteilen, dem Anlagenkonzept und der potentiellen Betriebsweise.

Amprion_OGE-Study

Februar 2018

Intelligente Sektorenkopplung

Amprion  und OGE haben gemeinsam die LBST beauftragt, die volkswirtschaftlichen und klimarelevanten Auswirkungen einer breiten Einführung von Power-to-Gas (PtG) im Vergleich zu einer „all-electric“ Welt für Deutschland bis 2050 in sektorspezifischem Detail zu analysieren. Dabei wurde der Stromsektor mit den ihm inhärenten Flexibilitätsoptionen bis auf das Stromverteilnetz vollständig modelliert.

aircraft-3702676_1920

September 2016

PtL-Kraftstoffe als erneuerbare Flugtreibstoffe

Die vom Umweltbundesamt (UBA) beauftrage und von der LBST mit Partnern erstellte Studie „Power-to-Liquids – Potentials and Perspectives for the Future Supply of Renewable Aviation Fuel“ gibt eine Einführung in das Konzept der Treibstoffproduktion aus erneuerbarem Strom, dem sogenannten Power-to-Liquid (PtL).